Staff of the College of Arts & Letters serve as staff representatives on various college-level councils and committees, and they work collectively on staff committees and project teams to continually improve the processes, work environment, and culture of the College.


The College Advisory Council is made up of Faculty and Staff from within the College of Arts & Letters who serve as an advisory board to the Dean. The current College Advisory Committee Staff Representative is LouAnne Snider.

The Dean’s Arts Advisory Council is made up of Faculty from within the College of Arts & Letters who serve as an advisory board to the Dean.

The College Staff Advisory Council (SAC) is a consultative body that serves as a liaison between CAL staff, faculty, and administration. The mission of the Staff Advisory Council is to center the needs of College support staff while collaborating to improve the experience of those working in the College of Arts & Letters. The current chair of the Staff Advisory Council is Amanda Brohman, and the vice chair is Monica Shellberg. Additional members include Sara Allison, Michelle Danaj, Marybeth Heeder, and Ashlee Richards.


The CALConnect Content Collaborator Committee (CALCON5) is comprised of Support Staff Members who are working to create a one-stop resource for all things CAL.
The current chair of the CALConnect Content Collaborator Committee is Leann Dalimonte.  Additional content owners include Laura Borchgrevink, Brian DeVries, Ashley Housler, Sarah Jackson, Debbie Richards, Penny Shanks, Melissa Staub, Jen Tetreau, The Committee also has multiple content contributors.

The College Graduate Committee (CGC) reviews and finds solutions to improve the graduate experience within the College of Arts & Letters.
The current College Graduate Committee Staff Representatives are Ben Lampe, and LouAnne Snider.

The College Inclusive Practices Committee (CIPC) is tasked with assessing, creating, and initiating efforts surrounding Diversity, Inclusion, Equity, and Justice. This committee is comprised of College of Arts & Letters Administrators, Faculty, Support Staff, and Graduate Students.
The current College Inclusive Practices Committee Staff Representative is Kathleen Post.

The Digital Transformation Committee (DX) is tasked with evaluating technology solutions with the goal of creating efficiencies within the College of Arts & Letters.
The current chair of the Digital Transformation Committee is Melissa Staub.  Additional members include Laura Borchgrevink, Leann Dalimonte, Ken Desloover, Tom Hakes, and Sarah Jackson.

The Financial Advisory Board (FAB) provides strategic financial advice to the College and its multiple units.  The team is comprised of Chief of Staff Ken Desloover, Sara Allison, Carly Ensign, and Suzie Reed. 

The Institutional Diversity: Excellence in Action (IDEA) committee is a University-wide team made up of Faculty and Staff members from various academic units.
For more information about the IDEA Committee, contact Melissa Del Rio.

The Staff Appreciation Planning/Awards Committees convene during the Spring Semester of every academic year to plan the Staff Appreciation in-service and to select the recipient of the College of Arts & Letters staff awards.  The Committee’s Coordinator is Deb Mansel.

Project Teams

The Data Team is building a knowledgebase of data systems within the university as well as designing strategies for data collection and data dissemination to the College’s decision-making bodies.  The current chair of the Data Team is Leann Dalimonte.  Members include Sara Allison, Ken Desloover,  Melissa Staub, English Chair Justus Nieland, and Associate Dean Sonja Fritzsche.

The HR SharePoint Team is exploring the option of using SharePoint as a collaborative file management system for documents pertaining to human resources and personnel files.  The current chair of the HR SharePoint Team is Melissa StaubMembers include Laura Borchgrevink,  Leann Dalimonte, Tom Hakes, Sarah Jackson, Dawn Lehman, and Jen Tetreau.

The Streamline Access Team is working to standardize the process of providing access to new employees, including computer systems and office and meeting spaces which are necessary to function effectively in his or her role.  The current members of the Streamline Access Team are Deb Mansel, Suzie Reed, and Melissa Staub.

The Tracy Time Project Team has been tasked with implementing a new time tracking system for the College of Arts & Letters.  The current chair of the Tracy Time Project Team is Brian DeVries.  Members include Laura Borchgrevink, Amanda Brohman, Tom Hakes Carly Ensign, Deb Mansel, and Monica Shellberg.

University SIS Modernization Project Oracle’s PeopleSoft Campus Solutions 9.2 is replacing MSU’s outdated Student Information System (SIS).  To learn more about the new system, visit You may direct questions regarding the Project to the team at or via the Contact Form. The College Change Coordinator is Ben Lampe.