Message to the Members of the MSU Faculty Senate and Steering Committee

Dear Members of the MSU Faculty Senate and Steering Committee, 

We write to reaffirm our shared commitment to the University’s values and to equitably applying and upholding the University’s policies and procedures. We amplify and support the calls for transparency and shared governance from leaders of the MSU Faculty Senate & Steering CommitteeASMSUMSU COGS, MSU CoREM, and the Association of American Universities

The recent actions by some members of the Board of Trustees are antithetical to the values that guide our work as academic leaders and the Board’s Code of Ethics (see These actions have destabilized and harmed our University. They have undermined the progress our community has made over the last several years to create a more equitable, more transparent, and more trusting community. 

We will continue to work collaboratively with you to make MSU a beacon of inclusive excellence. 


Ann E. Austin, Interim Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Faculty and Academic Staff Affairs
Kendra Spence Cheruvelil, Dean of Lyman Briggs College 
Pero Dagbovie, Associate Provost for Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies and Dean of the Graduate School 
Prabu David, Dean of the College of Communication Arts and Sciences 
Phillip M. Duxbury, Dean of the College of Natural Science 
Mary Finn, Dean of the College of Social Science 
James Forger, Dean of the College of Music 
Thomas Glasmacher, FRIB Laboratory Director 
Steven Hanson, Associate Provost and Dean for International Studies and Programs 
Jerlando F L Jackson, Dean of the College of Education  
Thomas Jeitschko, Senior Associate Provost
Mark Largent, Associate Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education 
Christopher P. Long, Dean of the College of Arts & Letters and the MSU Honors College 
Kelly F. Millenbah, Interim Dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources 
Terri Miller, Interim Dean of MSU Libraries 
Dylan Miner, Dean of the Residential College in the Arts and Humanities 
Birgit Puschner, Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine
Leigh Small, Interim Dean of the College of Nursing 
Aron Sousa, Dean of the College of Human Medicine 
Judith Stoddart, Associate Provost for University Arts and Collections 
Cameron G. Thies, Dean of James Madison College 
Laurie Van Egeren, Interim Associate Provost for University Outreach and Engagement 
Dave Weatherspoon, Associate Provost of Enrollment and Academic Strategic Planning