Memo to the Board of Trustees Regarding MSU Interim Presidential Search

Dear Members of the Board of Trustees,

Thank you for the opportunity to meet yesterday to discuss the characteristics required of our interim president.

MSU must have a values-oriented leader who will have credibility with the faculty, staff, students, alums, and other University stakeholders by virtue of having:

  • a proven record of research, teaching, and outreach and engagement, having gone through the academic ranks as a faculty member at MSU or a peer-institution; and
  • experience in leadership and management in public higher education at MSU or another world-class R1 university.

This person should provide immediate stability and continuity as well as support for our strategic plans, and have a demonstrated ability:

  • to support and maintain a culture that is diverse, equitable, inclusive, and safe;
  • to advance the health and well-being of every member of our community; and
  • to implement MSU’s three strategic plans (MSU 2030 Strategic Plan, DEI Report and Plan, and Relationship Violence and Sexual Misconduct Strategic Plan).

A person with these characteristics will have the ability to immediately establish the consensus and trust necessary to continue our positive momentum and lead us through this transition.


Ann E. Austin, Interim Associate Provost and Associate Vice President for Faculty and Academic Staff Affairs
Andrea Amalfitano, Dean of the College of Osteopathic Medicine
Kendra Spence Cheruvelil, Dean of Lyman Briggs College
Pero Dagbovie, Associate Provost for Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies and Dean of the Graduate School
Prabu David, Dean of the College of Communication Arts and Sciences
Phillip M. Duxbury, Dean of the College of Natural Science
Mary Finn, Dean of the College of Social Science
James Forger, Dean of the College of Music
Thomas Glasmacher, FRIB Laboratory Director
Linda Greene, Dean of the MSU College of Law
Steven Hanson, Associate Provost and Dean for International Studies and Programs
Jerlando F L Jackson, Dean of the College of Education
Thomas Jeitschko, Senior Associate Provost
Leo Kempel, Dean of the College of Engineering
Mark Largent, Associate Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education
Christopher P. Long, Dean of the College of Arts & Letter and the MSU Honors College
Kelly F. Millenbah, Interim Dean of the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources
Terri Miller, Interim Dean of the MSU Libraries
Dylan Miner, Dean of the Residential College in the Arts and Humanities
Birgit Puschner, Dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine
Leigh Small, Interim Dean of the College of Nursing
Aron Sousa, Dean of the College of Human Medicine
Judith Stoddart, Associate Provost for University Arts and Collections
Cameron G. Thies, Dean of James Madison College
Laurie Van Egeren, Interim Associate Provost for University Outreach and Engagement
Dave Weatherspoon, Associate Provost of Enrollment and Academic Strategic Planning
Judith Whipple, Interim Dean of Broad College of Business