Romance and Classical Studies Announces 2020-2021 Departmental Awards

The Department of Romance and Classical Studies (RCS) recently announced the recipients of its Departmental Awards for the 2020-2021 academic year. RCS annually recognizes outstanding students for their academic achievements with a series of scholarships and awards. In lieu of an in-person ceremony this year, award recipients were featured on the RCS website and on its social media pages.

The Department of Romance and Classical Studies would like to recognize the following award recipients for their hard work and dedication as students within the RCS programs:


Outstanding Student in Classics

Meredith McDonnell and Jack Carlson


Johannes Sachse Memorial Award

Hannah Olsen

Dorothy Carr Houvener Memorial Scholarship

Allie Bradley, Charlotte Okeefe, Ashley Williams, Simrah Hamid, and Mariam Sayed

Herman H. Thornton Award

Kathleen Fallon

Outstanding Student in French

Gillian Cain

Larry Porter Award

Kate Kelly

Outstanding TA in French

Erin McNabb


Sirianni Award

Aanya Belsare, Andrew Brown, Elena Cousino, Julian Sugameli, and Daniel Jaworski

Outstanding Student in Italian

Maya Kavikondala

GKA Italian Honor Society

Dylan Catalano, Alexandra Iverson, Max Martin, Alec McWood, Brianna Monaghan, and Michael Prosi


Outstanding Student in Portuguese

Keegan Sullivan and Maggie Demko


Ella Cowles Award

Richard Swinson and Jenny Belfer

Mary F. Klapperich Memorial Scholarship

Maddie Hannon, Elizabeth Tweadey, and Shae Thomson

Outstanding Student in Spanish

Katy Miller

Outstanding Contributor Award

María Laura Zalazar

Outstanding TA in Spanish

Mayra Flores Mejia