Department of Linguistics, Languages, and Cultures Honors Student Excellence at Award Ceremony

After a two-year break due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Department of Linguistics, Languages, and Cultures (LiLaC) gathered in person on April 29, 2022, in Wells Hall to honor several of its outstanding students at the LiLaC Awards Ceremony. This was the first time the department held an awards ceremony in a hybrid format, which allowed students to join from other countries while abroad. 

Yen-Hwei Lin, Chair of the Department, Cara Cilano, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, and Senta Goertler, Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies, all welcomed students, faculty, staff, and guests to the event. In her remarks, Cilano noted that students who study languages are willing to get out of their comfort zone and experience new cultures, a trait that will serve them well after they graduate. 

Teaching Assistant Awards

The awards for Teaching Assistants were presented to Titi Kou-Herrema, who received the MSU Excellence-in-Teaching Citation, Steven G. Gagnon, who was honored with the LiLaC Outstanding TA Award (Ph.D.), and Sarah Sirna, who received the LiLaC Outstanding TA Award (M.A.). 

Outstanding Graduating Senior in Korean Samantha Bartoszek stands beside Ok Sook Park in front of a projected screen listing the student's name
Each of the department’s majors and minors recognized an outstanding graduating senior.

Outstanding Graduating Senior Awards

Each of the department’s major and minor programs honored an outstanding graduating senior. This year’s outstanding graduating senior awards went to:

  • Najya Zaman, Outstanding Graduating Senior in Arabic
  • Georgia Lee Seely, Outstanding Graduating Senior in Chinese
  • Kaylee McCarthy, Outstanding Graduating Senior in German
  • Ren McCowan, Outstanding Graduating Senior in Japanese
  • Samantha Bartoszek, Outstanding Graduating Senior in Korean
  • Sarah Knappenberger, Outstanding Graduating Senior in Linguistics
  • Katelyn Weatherford, Outstanding Graduating Senior in Russian 
  • Nate Chevalier, Outstanding Graduating Senior in TESOL
Students abroad are projected on the screen on zoom
With the hybrid format, students abroad could join the ceremony via Zoom.

Departmental Scholarship Recipients

The departmental scholarship recipients also were honored. This year’s recipients include: 

  • Erik Ralston – Baden Württemberg Scholarship 
  • Liam Donahue and Michelle Sanda – Thomas W. and Sarah L. Juntune Endowed Scholarship for Study Abroad in Freiburg 
  • Tushya Mehta, Andrew Taylor, and Wyatt Zwik – Endowed Scholarship for German Language and Culture in Mayen 
  • Tate Evans, Aviana Irrer, Holly Ryan, and Ethan Vick – George F. Peters Scholarship 
  • Isabella Briseno, Sophie Cleland, Ian Szejbach, and Jordan Williams – Endo Hudson Japanese Studies Scholarship 

Honor Society Inductions

The German and Russian programs inducted students into their honor societies. Delta Phi Alpha, the German Honors Society, welcomed Chloe Austin, Tate Evans, Ellie Franklin, Joanna Hensley, Brendan Kelly, Maureen Meadow, and Anna Rehm. While Dobro Slovo, the Slavic Honors Society, inducted Matthew Miller and Phoebe Smith. 

Following the ceremony, faculty, staff, students, and guests celebrated in the Atrium of Wells Hall with a reception. 

The Department of Linguistics, Languages, and Cultures congratulates all of its awardees and graduates in 2022!